Serendip is an independent site partnering with faculty at multiple colleges and universities around the world. Happy exploring!

hannahgisele's blog

hannahgisele's picture

Faulkner and the Three Forms of Storytelling

In this course, The Story of Evolution and the Evolution of Stories, I’ve learned about what could be considered the three main types of stories: there are non-narrative foundational stories, which are static, hierarchical in nature, eternal, and have no segmentation. There are narrative foundational stories, which are time sensitive, segmented, and there is a sense of movement away from the past towards the future. Third, there are emergent stories, which lack a hierarchy, have no segmentation, and are more explanatory. Each type mirrors the ways in which we have attempted to explain our presence on this earth. The Great Chain of Being closely resembles a non-narrative foundational story telling while the tree of life is similar to a narrative foundational one.

hannahgisele's picture

The Different Types of Evolution that Words Undergo

hannahgisele's picture

Evolution vs. Creationism in Education

Syndicate content