Serendip is an independent site partnering with faculty at multiple colleges and universities around the world. Happy exploring!

Remote Ready Biology Learning Activities

Remote Ready Biology Learning Activities has 50 remote-ready activities, which work for either your classroom or remote teaching.

Women, Sport, and Film - Althea Gibson Forum

Comments are posted in the order in which they are received, with earlier postings appearing first below on this page. To see the latest postings, click on "Go to last comment" below.

Go to last comment

Dare To Compete
Name: Amy Campbe
Date: 2004-01-29 18:17:50
Link to this Comment: 7826

1. Please introduce yourself to your 'team'.
2. Respond/react to: Societies view of women and sport has changed significantly in the last 80 years. How do these changes impact women today and is teh culture of sport still changing?

Name: Talia Libe
Date: 2004-02-01 13:51:17
Link to this Comment: 7863

Hi. I'm Talia Liben. I'm a sophomore.

I think that the changes in sports over the last 80 years, in allowing women to participate, do impact women today. For those of us who are athletically inclined, the women of the past 80 years have paved the way for us to be involved in sports, and to excell in sports. For those of us who are not athletic, the changes in sports effect the society at large. All of the changes in the way society treats women have come from different fields - politics, education, the arts, etc. Sports has done its share in educating the world of the benefits of equality.

Introduction
Name: Brenda Zer
Date: 2004-02-01 14:57:28
Link to this Comment: 7867

Hi,
I'm Brenda Zera, a junior geology major living on PemEast 2nd.